Spy comics

We were inspired by James Sturm’s book called Adventures in Cartooning so we started working on our own comics. The book walks you through setting up your own comic at the end, so that was a perfect start to our project. We’d also been reading a “how-to” book on being a spy by Perry the Platapus. You can see the influence there.

What I learned from this was that our kids get intimidated by our (grown-up) way of drawing. D, in particular, gets discouraged by my drawing skills. After he expressed his feeling about this, I took on his drawing style and things went much smoother. I even borrowed many of his visual inventions like the hot cup of cocoa and the window. His work are the first and last pages. Mine is the middle page.

D asked to handle the camera while I narrated the story.

